Under Massachusetts State law it is illegal for anyone to enter into a
home, enclosed land, building, boat or other private area without consent.
In addition, people are not allowed to remain in these locations beyond
the specified time set out by the owner or whoever has lawful control
over the building or land. The key to understanding the
charges for trespassing is that the individual being charged had no right to be on the property.
The typical penalty includes a fine of up to $100 with a potential for
30 days in jail, depending on the severity of the crime. A judge can also
choose to sentence an individual with one or the other or both, if they
If a trespassing defense lawyer can defend the accused and reveal that
they had a right to be on the property, they may be able to have their
charges reduced or dismissed. In the same way, if there was not signage
showing that individuals could not be at the property at the given time,
this could nullify the charges. The prosecution must show clear evidence
that the individual was verbally charged or shown by way of a clear sign
that they were not to be at the location or that they needed to leave.
Protect your rights if you have been charged and call Flanagan & Associates
today for an aggressive case defense. Our
Quincy criminal defense firm has helped countless individuals throughout the state of Massachusetts
with their impending criminal charges, obtaining dismissed charges or
Call our office today to learn more about how we can help you move on pass your trespassing
charges and help keep such a minor offense from staining your record.